The social platform Facebook and its sister affiliate Instagram are testing a new feature that will allow users to have more control over the notifications they receive in their respective versions for mobile devices.
Available for a number of selected users, the new option allows disabling notifications for a predetermined period of time or simply until the user decides to activate it again.
‘You are up to date’
The platform also enabled as of Monday a new notification called ‘You’re up to date’, which appears in the news section having seen all the publications that were shared in the last two days.
This means that all the publications that appear after this message have already been seen by the user or were simply shared some time ago, which diminishes their relevance.