With privacy being the scourge of a multitude of online services, in addition to applications, we are witnessing the growing interest on the part of companies in securing the data of their users. Facebook, the web, YouTube… Everywhere we leave a trail with our use. This problem can be mitigated with incognito mode, a mode that is already available on YouTube.
Some users discovered it a couple of months ago, now it’s active for all users. With this incognito mode YouTube will not save any record of your use of the platform. So you can see all the content you want without saving the history, without leaving a trace of your account in the videos and also hiding your favorites and subscriptions. It is not the definitive solution to guarantee privacy on YouTube, but it is a good patch.
How to activate incognito mode on YouTube with only 2 steps
An option as basic as this must have an activation method that is just as simple. This is the case with the YouTube for Android application: it has been updated from the server side to give you the possibility to browse without leaving a trace. Activation is done as follows:
- Go to your account settings on YouTube by clicking on your avatar icon in the upper right corner.
- Look at the menu that appears: you will see that there is now an “A ctivar incognito mode“.
- Once activated, the navigation on YouTube will be private. You will see a black strip below the bottom menu and your avatar will have switched to the incognito icon.
- As long as you have this mode active, you will not leave a trace in the application or the video platform. You will not be able to interact with the videos or leave comments.
As we said, browsing and private viewing in the YouTube for Android app is already active in all accounts, also in yours. Now you not only have incognito mode in Google Chrome, but also in YouTube. Use it for that extra privacy when you leave someone’s mobile or whenever you do not want to share your private data on the platform.